top of page

Why my peers don’t prefer Queen and my life as a Queen fan

A lot of people, including you, might wonder if today’s young people still listen to the legendary band Queen or not. I am a teenager and yes, I am also a Queen fan. Not just an ordinary Queen fan but I blog articles about Queen, write fan fictions about Queen and actively participate in communities that celebrate the legacy of Queen. Thanks to the 2018 movie Bohemian Rhapsody, I was introduced to the band behind the world famous hits and became part of the fandom ever since.

Yes, being a Queen fan is great and fun and I am proud to be a Queen fan. There are a lot of beautiful people out there who feel the same way, still I discovered that there are also some people who don’t approve the idea of becoming one. And of course, a number of young people including my friends and my cousins, consists in that portion. I wondered why they are not going to listen to Queen songs and after my a few month's research, found some common excuse they give.




The first and the most common reason is that they do not listen to old songs. It is the common answer most teenagers and young people would give if someone asks them. They believe that such songs are old and might not fulfill for today’s music ecstasy. “Music changes through the years”, the lyrics in Radio Gaga1 by Roger Taylor2 is very much correct; music does change and so its flow and style; yet good music are never too old for us to listen.

Secondly, they give annoying excuses such as they don’t listen to songs sang by old men who are dead by now. Now, my reaction might be harsh, but honestly, it is the most ridiculous reason I have ever heard. Not all 70s and 80s singers have passed away and there are still people who listen to those old men singing. I have to explain my friends that all three Queen members are still alive except Freddie Mercury and the band is still rocking till this day. Yes, many legendary singers and front men such as Freddie Mercury, David Bowie, John Lennon and Michael Jackson have left us but legends never die, they are always living in our hearts.

Thirdly, they don’t listen to those songs because those are not cool for them. My peers want to be cool and so they tend to listen to what they call cool music which is today’s music such as K pop and EDM. Their music tastes and peer pressures must play a big role but it is sad that they’re missing the chance to listen to great music other than cool music. We all agree that Queen music is great and great music are timeless. I feel really lucky I have become a Queen fan and enjoy their music.

Being a Queen fan in the midst of people who prefer different music other than Queen is hard to fit in. They think I am weird and old-fashioned but I don’t let it affect my love for the 70s and 80s rock bands. I will keep on supporting the band I love in any way I can. There are other reasons why my peers don’t prefer Queen but above three are the most common reason I have come across. Of course, there are a lot of young people out there who appreciate Queen for their great music. I am just writing this article mostly based on my experience.

If you are looking forward for more reasons concerning this subject, just mail me and I will write a Part 2 article. Or if you have a different and opposing opinion, feel free to share them with me.

1Radio Gaga: A Queen song written by Roger Taylor and released in

the 1984 album; The Works

2Roger Taylor: The original drummer and vocals of Queen band

Subscribe for more articles about Queen and their Influences today.

Article by Mercury Holmes; writer, blogger and mentor.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page