top of page

How I fell in love with the Rock Legend

Updated: May 4, 2020

"We will rock you, Don't stop me now, Radio ga ga"

I have heard those songs since I was young; on television, on radio and from my old grandparents mentioning them. Did I know the Queen songs then? Yes. Did I know the band Queen then? Well...


Like many other young people, I have learnt about the life of the legendary rock band Queen watching the 2018 Bohemian Rhapsody movie. There, I experienced the early struggles of Freddie and the rest of the band members, their passions and efforts and their accomplishments.


But watching Bohemian Rhapsody movie did not make me a fan of Queen. Music has always been an important part of my life and I was always finding new music everyday that would satisfy my need. I googled some Queen songs after watching the movie and downloaded a song or two. Great songs they were. Then, I came across a Queen song called Too Much Love Will Kill You. The first time I listened to it...the song...the melody...his voice...


I knew it then. I have found it, at last. The voice of angels. I have found Freddie Mercury. After that emotional engagement with Freddie, I searched for more songs...for my soul... and they had not failed me. '39, The Prophets Song, Hammer To Fall, Living on my own They were all unique in their own way. At the end of the day, my playlist was filled with only Queen songs.


Queen songs were all around me all the time, whether I knew the band who created them or not. And I admit that I was introduced to the musicians behind the hits through the movie. But, I did not fall immediately with the movie characters but with the real musicians after listening to their albums and watching their shows on youtube. Now, I am trying to continue and share this legacy to others with anything I possess and any way I can.


There are famous legendary classics like Bohemian Rhapsody but I fell in love with the Rock god with Too Much Love Will Kill You. What have I learnt from that?

Not a single Queen song ought to be underestimated and not an single effort of the fans ought to be neglected too. Who knows what impacts little things could lead to?





Hi, I am Mercury Holmes and I am a Wattpad author and mentor.

My Queen works includes "Four Old Ladies: Queen Conversations" on Wattpad consisting the fictional life of Freddie, Brian, Roger and John blended with humor and friendship.

My Queen memes could be found on Wattpad (@Rachel_MercuryHolmes) and Instagram (@themercuryholmes)


Long Live The Queen!


74 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page